slider slider slider slider
Department of Physics

The Department of Physics was formerly known as Centre for Applied Physics and established in 2010 under the School of Natural Sciences. The department started its teaching and research activities in 2010 and there is no looking back since then. The department today is an active beehive of research being carried out in frontier areas of physics as well as high quality post-graduate and doctoral programs. The department currently offers M.Sc. in physics, Ph.D. in different areas of physics and integrated B. Sc. & M. Sc. in physics which is designed as per the National Education Policy 2020 (NEP-2020). Currently, the department has seven faculty members and twelve research scholars. The department has vibrant research environment and conducts many research conferences, seminar, and workshops to attract faculties and scientist across the nation and abroad to participate and contribute towards the growth. During the last 13 years, the department has grown as an independent and academically vibrant center for learning. The alumni of this department have reached institutions/university in the county and abroad for higher study or with high profile jobs.

Head of the Department


Dr. Sarang Medhekar

Head & Professor

Office Address

Department of Physics
 Central University of Jharkhand