<u>Central University of Jharkhand</u> <u>Proctorial Board</u>

The Central University of Jharkhand has a Proctorial Board consisting of Chief Proctor and Members of Board. The Chief Proctor of the University heads the proctor office.

- 1) As per the ordinance of University "All powers relating to the discipline and disciplinary actions in relation to the students of the University is vested in the Vice-Chancellor in accordance with the Statute 28 (3) and 28 (3) She/he shall be assisted by a Proctor(s) who shall exercise such powers and perform such duties as may be assigned to her/him by the Vice-Chancellor and as prescribed in the Ordinance. The Proctors shall be responsible for the maintenance of discipline among the students of the University. The Proctor(s) shall on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor receive and act upon any report received by her/him from a teacher and public complaints against a student or a group of students".
- Chief Proctor's office is in coordination with all stakeholders provides counseling and mentoring to the students as and when it is required. The Departments/Centres are entrusted with mentoring of students on regular basis.
- 3) The Board is established with the primary objectives of enforcing discipline and monitoring the student community, as well as maintaining liaison between the University and students and parents/Guardians. The helpline is available for students to contact any time if such need arises.
- 4) Chief Proctor's office is committed to upholding the highest standards of security and maintaining a safe and conducive environment for learning, research, and campus life. We strive to ensure that our University community, including students, faculty, and staff, can thrive in a secure and inclusive environment. The Board is committed to ensuring the safety and security of the campus community and promoting a positive campus culture. The Board in coordination with Security office of campus oversees security measures such as access control systems, CCTV surveillance, and campus-wide safety audits.

- 5) We also work with other departments and stakeholders to develop policies and procedures related to cyber security, data protection, and information security to safeguard the University's digital assets and intellectual property.
- 6) The office deals with any emerging matters related to students discipline. For that we are organized for crisis management and emergency preparedness, including developing contingency plans, coordinating emergency drills and exercises, and responding effectively to critical incidents. The student helplines provide easy and speedy access to immediate relief in case of any exigencies.
- 7) The University is committed to maintain cordial atmosphere and address social and cultural issues that impact campus environment, such as discrimination, harassment, and violence on campus. Our office works with other departments and stakeholders to promote diversity, equity, and inclusivity and create a safe and inclusive campus environment for all members of the University.
- 7) The Proctorial Board works closely with faculty, staff, and students as a bridge between the University and local law enforcement agencies to ensure effective communication and coordination in addressing any concerns. The Board is intended to prevent misunderstandings and excessive involvement of the police etc. in campus affairs to create academic vibrancy. We work closely with local authorities, emergency services, and other relevant stakeholders to ensure that the University is well-prepared to handle emergencies and safeguard the well-being of the faculty, staff, and students.
- 8) Therefore the Proctorial Board is conscious and concerned about faculty, staff, and student's discipline, welfare, and security. The office is dedicated to fulfilling working in close collaboration with various stakeholders to address all concerns and uphold the values of our University.

The Current Members of Board is as follows:



Dr. Mayank Ranjan- Chief Proctor



Dr. Purabi Saikia- Member



Dr Rajanikant Pandey- Member



Dr. Seema Mamta Minz- Member



Dr. Arvind Lal- Member



Dr Ram Kishor- - Member